alzheimers, poetry

Alzheimer’s Part 2: December 2014

You spoke words I could rely on,
You were a hand that helped me through,
You were a mind full of wisdom;
A crucial part of how I grew.

But as the seasons change too fast
’94 became 2015.
Your mind is changing, rearranging
Whilst you lose a sense of me.

Fragile autumn leaves
Don’t drift away from me.
Setting winter sun,
Your light won’t be undone.
Fading memories, dying mind
I will never leave you behind.

I beg you to remember,
As you fumble through your thoughts,
All you’ve said and done for me
Not all, at all is lost.

For the fifth time since sunrise
I will listen to your same tale
And to humour your soul once more,
I’ll pretend I don’t know it well.

Fragile autumn leaves
Don’t drift away from me.
Setting winter sun,
Your light won’t be undone.
Fading memories, dying mind
I will never leave you behind.

Leave a Reply

